The Visa

February 14, 2007 at 3:11 am | Posted in My Blog | 2 Comments

Well, it finally came through.  On Friday around 3 p.m. I saw the blessed name of the HR worker in my office in Accra, in my inbox telling me that my visa came through.  Man!  It’s officially three weeks past the longest time it was supposed to take to get it and it’s been hard as heck to wait and trust God that everything would work out!  It is truly darkest before the dawn cause it was getting hard for me to hold on there for awhile.  I don’t know why.  God is so faithful.  Why should I doubt Him now when I’m this close?  I guess it’s just been so hard to be unemployed these past seven months.  First time in my life for something like that. 

I should’ve titled this instead, “The joy of forms”.  😉 I had to fill out like 20 of them to scan and email back.  The next step is buying my ticket.  It feels strange now that it’s actually happening.  The idea of just arbitrarily choosing a date to fly out on.  How does one know which day to pick?  How to be sure that the car will be sold and everything packed by that certain date?  (And the answer comes back to her in the simple wisdom of a childhood song, “Trust and obey, for there’s no other way, to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey”).

The real purpose of this posting is to thank you for your prayers and interest in my endeavor and to update you with the good visa news.  Everyone has been wonderful with their kindness and encouragement.  Thank you.  I am truly blessed.

I’ll “let” (as they say here in PA) you back to your busy lives and leave you with two appropriate quotes that I like.

God bless,

Grace

Vocations which we wanted to pursue, but didn’t, bleed, like colors, on
the
whole of our existence. -Honore de Balzac, novelist (1799-1850)

Science is organized knowledge. Wisdom is organized life. -Immanuel
Kant,
philosopher (1724-1804)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hallelujah for the Ghana Girl! Couldn’t be happier for you Grace. Go pursue, my sister. Nice start as a blogger btw. You blog well.

    I love you.

    Your brother, Ed

  2. Hi Grace,

    I’m happy to read that you are doing well and having fun at the same time…I am estatic to see that you are experincing life away from the states. Have a great time be safe and let God’s love be with you every and each day you are there.

    Love ya,
    Alvin


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

